Prólogo 》

Cover Image

Ameer Phillips, ’17

Premio Ramiro Lagos, 2023
Primer Premio | 1st Prize
Segundo Premio | 2nd Prize
Premio de traducción | Translation Prize

Ficción | Fiction
Anyelly Herrera, ’24
Michelle Geiser Menz, ’18

Voces de | Voices of Abiayala
Francisco Huichaqueo (Wallmapu, Chile)
Roxana Miranda Rupailaf (Wallmapu, Chile)

Reimaginings | Reimaginaciones 
Éowyn Bailey ’26
Max Congdon, ’23
Mary Grace Kelly, ’25
Nadia Letendre, ’25
Elena Miceli, ’20
Brendan Robinson, ’26
Grant Ward, ’23

Jimena Bermejo (Theatre)
Ahana Nagarkatti, ’25

Poesía | Poetry
Éowyn Bailey, ’26
Colectivo Stein IV
Ahana Nagarkatti, ’25
Ashley Rodríguez Lantigua, ’23
Camiah Small, ’26

Agradecimientos | Thanks

Equipo editorial

About us | Sobre nosotros

Disclaimer and fair use statement
Sigma Delta Pi︎

Copyright for individual contributions owned by their respective creator(s). All other material ©College of the Holy Cross, 2023. No part of this site,, may be reproduced in whole or in part in any manner without permission of the copyright owner.

The views expressed on this site are their creators’ and do not necessarily reflect those of the editorial staff, Sigma Delta Pi, the College of the Holy Cross, or any other entity.

This website provides links to external sites for your convenience and information. We do not endorse or control the content of these sites, and their inclusion does not imply affiliation with fósforo, Sigma Delta Pi, or College of the Holy Cross. Clicking on external links is at your own risk, and we are not responsible for the accuracy, security, or availability of the linked content. External sites may have different privacy policies and terms of use, so review them for your protection. We are not liable for any damages or issues arising from your use of external links on our website.


The Ramiro Lagos Prize

(para español, pulsa aquí)

We are pleased to publish the winners of the annual Ramiro Lagos Poetry Prize, created by the the Department of World Languages at Worcester State University, along with the College of the Holy Cross, Trinity College, Clark University, Fitchburg State University, Quinsigamond Community College, University of Connecticut, Anna Maria College, University of North Carolina at Greensboro, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

This award aims to encourage, support, promote, and publicize the creation of high-quality poetic works by students of the partner universities. Poems in Spanish that are original, unpublished, and whose theme revolves around the poetry of Ramiro Lagos are eligible.

The poet Ramiro Lagos was born in Zapatoca, Santander, Colombia, September 24th, 1922. Since 1961 he has lived in the USA as Professor of Spanish, first at the University of Notre Dame (1962-1956) and then at the University of North Carolina (1965-1994), having held the position of Director of Hispanic courses abroad until 2007. He now holds the position of Professor Emeritus.

Lagos has published more than 35 books of critical research and poetry. He has been honored several times in the USA, Spain and Colombia, where he has been distinguished with the "Laurel de oro" of Santander poetry. In 2012 the Government of Santander decorated him with "La Gran Cruz al Mérito" for his contribution to Colombian literature. Recently, in April 2017, the Academy of History of Colombia has honored him for his long and fruitful career.

—Antonio Guijarro-Donadiós, Ph.D.
Worcester State University

Copyright for individual contributions owned by their creators or used by permission.
All other material ©Fósforo, 2023. Unauthorized reproduction prohibited.